On turning 55

Kathy Jacobs
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readNov 16, 2017

55 years young today
If only my body felt as young
I could climb a mountain
Shout to the world

I am loved
And that is more than enough
I am liked
And that is more than enough
I love me
I like me
And I have learned
That can be more than enough

My heart has hurt for many years
I never could figure out why
Today, I learned
I can live with the hurt
It doesn’t have to take over

I may never be as happy as I want
I will probably be broke often
I will not see the ones I love
Nearly often enough

55 years of life today
Reminders of community strong
10 years of birthdays
On Twitter and Facebook
Bringing me closer to
Friends around the world
All tell me they think of me
At 55, I am learning
That is enough.

My friends around the world
My community
They all keep me going
Today I listened to them
Today I heard what they tell me
Regularly, happily, confidently

Thanks to my community
My caring, loving community
I know I matter
I know I have talents
I know I am worth it

I know:
Tomorrow may be ugly and strange
The next day as well
But the black hole of sad
Can only capture me if I let it.

Bad luck doesn’t have to be
The story of my life
I know that today
For now,
That is more than enough.

--

--

Kathy Jacobs
Literally Literary

💚POMpoet💚 Former software tester, still breaking things. Social Media geek. Former OneNote MVP. Phoenix Mercury fan. Green Bay Packer fan.