Once There Were….

Saief Al Emon

Once
there were
No bridges broken
No roads blocked
No mountains invisible
No fathomless valleys
No shifting of the wind
No directing the rain
No sitting, awaiting
someone to blame

Face to face
I’ve acknowledged my shame
and when tomorrow comes
I’ll love you just the same

From the highline
to the soup line
From the skyline
to the alley

Now
Deep in your heart
Every bridge has been burned
The roads assigned no return
When every mountain
once a joyous climb
now lay pillared on the ground
The barren valleys
forges the driest wind
I’ve acknowledged my shame
and when tomorrow comes
I’ll love you just the same

Once
there were
The beauty of you and I
Now only tears I see
Still I refuse to cry
I’ve acknowledged my shame
and when tomorrow comes
I’ll love you just the same

@Anthony2021mdh30Vibes

© Anthony Cloe Huie 2021

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
Literally Literary

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous