prayer rope

Darryl Willis
Literally Literary
Published in
Aug 16, 2021
photo by Darryl Willis all rights reserved

the black knots
found by fingers
while eyes closed
mind opened and
close to truth
close to heart
beat to
the breath

the black knots
knot my mind
while they remind
me what is not
to be avoided
black knots
with tears
and hope

the black knots
face who I am
and who I’m not
combined with plea
to who he is
a simple task
to accept
what I could not
give to myself

the black knots
a moment of
solidarity
with child
of timidity
who dares not who
cannot see
for the wonder
of it all

the black knots
knot a broken soul
the child despised
who would not dare
to raise the eyes
to your face
who stands far off
in sacred space
standing alone
and lonely waits

--

--

Darryl Willis
Literally Literary

Has worked in non-profits for 40 years and is currently a Regional Director for an international non-profit. He holds an MA in Biblical text.