Red Sky Morning

Molly
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readFeb 26, 2019

Highs and lows are the way it goes;
the tide of of life ebbs and flows.

I was standing knee deep,
stationary to each wave’s sweep.
From sky to land and land to sea,
there was no place I'd rather be.

And I stood,
when the salt stung
and the storms raged
and the fish bit at my skin,

And I stood
through every tidal wave,
I never would have given in.

My heart is made of leather,
it can take a little weather.

If you think that's the reason I left,
then you should know me better.

Yes,
passion
has an ugly side.

It's a bulldozer voice
that plows through you, mid-sentence.
It's a seething rage
for the slow, minimum-wage cashier.
It's a hurricane of hurt
that turns, neverending,
torn up by all the worst things, without wisps of mending.

But passion
also
looks like
your hands holding mine during a cold night.

It smells like
the coffee you brought me at each morning light.
It tastes like
snowflakes at the top of tall mountain Blue.
And it feels like
your hugs after
too
many
days without you.

You're a cold drink
in the dusty summer sun,
refreshingly thoughtful,
and ready for a run.

And you're a subtle wink,
a playful dance in the kitchen,
funny kisses on the cheek,
and being sneakily smitten.

And I would take
the good and bad
without question of a doubt,
because the good was wonderful,
I never wanted to live without.

And then
deep
in my heart
a seed of anger
began to start.

My fuse of patience had been whittled short;
a semblance of attitude began to form.
I learned how to talk over people too,
and negative fixations would soak and brew.

That
was enough.

As much as I could love you,
(and it's from sea to shining sea),
I couldn't let that darkness
become a part of me.

I am not blind.
The storms
have
lessened over time.
You have made
strong strides
to better your design.

And you are smart
And you are kind
And there's no doubt in my mind
that you will find
yourself
exactly where you want to be,
if you decide it's what you need.

But I can't be here right now.
I need to get back to me.
I need to salvage what I've got before I lose a piece.

Please recognize that through my eyes
you're everything you could be.
To say I thought you weren't enough,
you do misrepresent me.

Molly 2019

--

--