Restoration Plain

John Horan
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readJan 9, 2020

--

My mind is broken
My heart is open
I close my eyes
And listen to the empty breeze
And the singing trees
Remind me of a mystery
I’d forgotten long ago

Underneath the Earth
Sleeps the grass
Around a palace
Made of glass
Flowers of ruby red
In the dark
Sleep the dead
Waiting for the morning call

Disappear into empty space
Find another human face
To wear beneath your skin
Freedom lies within
When you’re everything
And nothing at all

Inside a chest
Made of wal- and coconut
Lies a scroll
Saying everything
That was lost
Will be restored
And all your lava
Turned to gold
The glint in your eye
Is a diamond in the sky
No one can hold
Or take away

Forget what you’ve learned
Unhinge the bruise
Yellow and blue
Like the night sky
That guided sailors home
Through waters rough and smooth
Everything you lose
Comes back to you
Bright and new
With the dawn.

Like my poems? Check out my novel A Vagrant At The House Of Love.

--

--

John Horan
Literally Literary

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry