Silence.

Amy Echstenkamper
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readNov 2, 2016
CCo Public Domain

If there’s one thing I’ve learned
from waiting on you,
my wanting unanswered,

it’s this:

patience is no virtue,

it’s just a cold and caustic way
of keeping me

quiet.

This was sitting under my list of drafts for a while until Crooked Little Flower introduced the one line poem prompt for silence. I figured it wasn’t coincidence that that was the title I had settled on for this the night before. So this is my official response to this week’s one-liner challenge. Thank you, Crooked Little Flower for unknowingly nudging me to finish this one.

--

--

Amy Echstenkamper
Literally Literary

A songwriter first, but I generally just love words and fearless human emotion. So here I am. www.soundcloud.com/amymech