Sobless

Nazneen Rahman
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readNov 21, 2019
Photo by ANIRUDH on Unsplash

I have never sobbed.
I’ve cried, I’ve wept,
Wailed and whimpered,
Fat, hot tears have trammeled down
my cheeks.

But sobbing is beyond me.
The uncontrolled rhythm,
The long draw to a silent gasp
of pain,
Raw, unquenchable pain.

I’ve had sob-inducing moments,
I believe.
Would life be worth living otherwise?
Ying to ecstasy’s Yang.
Have I known ecstasy?

It’s safe in my sobless heart.
My trapeze heart,
Swinging between high-bars,
A glamorous, riskless illusion,
Back-and-forth, back-and-forth.

Will I ever let go?
Not knowing if there’s
a net below,
Not caring if there’s a
net below.

Unlikely!

Why would I?
I can cannibalize emotion,
In a song, a cause, a loved one,
When I need a hit
of real life.

It’s safe here.
So blessed.
Sobless.

©Nazneen Rahman 2019

✨Click to get 5 FREE Songs and the stories behind them. Connect you with you.

If you liked this you might like these other poems:

--

--

Nazneen Rahman
Literally Literary

Singer-Songwriter, Poet, Scientist, Doctor. Top writer in Music. Inspired by many.