Sometimes I fall flat faced

Sometimes We Stumble~

At times I stand still

--

Photo by Alexander krivitskiy via pexels

There have been times
I fall flat faced
having lost all dignity
limbs darting wild and free
each a different direction
none of which seemingly
caring about me

Those of you having experienced
the moment as shared
having noticed but a split second
between having stumbled
but before that painful
sudden stop

The hollow thump
the silence
followed by the first sharp pain
then again
again
then all in unison
as if in an orchestra of pain
the realization having rushed
to your brain

In the midst of it all
instinctually you look around
like a child having fallen
seeking out the faces of sympathy
before their piercing screams
but not you
You are an adult
No sympathetic face of mom
or dad
just the sadness of
ADULT
embarrassment

You now remember
the moment you stumbled
the caution before the fall
the calm before the storm
You think hard
could I have adjusted
could I have corrected

Sometimes we stumble
I now praise that opportunity
for what it is
Sometimes we stumble
I know now it to be that calm
before an otherwise
painful storm
Sometimes we stumble
I now view it as
good trouble
Adjust then walk
slowly
away
and have a good day

--

--

Anthony Cloe Huie (Choose Living Over Existing)
Literally Literary

Choose Living Over Existing(CLOE)Gender Free Writer(GFW), MartialArts-Auth"The Spirit That Guides Us" "Noir AM""The Lottery" https://twitter.com/dropoutgorgeous