Song Of Life

John Horan
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readSep 10, 2021

--

Photo by PRAVEEN R VENUGOPAL https://www.flickr.com/people/44745966@N07 This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Sing a song to come to life
I hum in my tomb
A mile underground
The grass blades quiver
To the sublime sound
A tune to raise the dead
The song of life
In the key of E
Won’t someone remember me
I was young and wild once
I had beauty flying out of me
I got buried somehow
I guess I dug my own grave
Or it caved in on top of me
Is there a song to open the earth?
A song to give me a second birth?
I might be dead but I’m not gone
As long as someone can hear my song
And join in and sing along
Then I’m not dead, I’m not dead, at all.
I’m singing along with you.

Like my poems? Check out my novella A Vagrant At The House Of Love.

Or my podcast Subberculture

© John Horan 2021

--

--

John Horan
Literally Literary

Writer of novels, scripts and poems. Teaches meditation. Thinks too much. https://linktr.ee/johnhoranpoetry