Image is my own

The Caveat

Stephen Edward
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readApr 26, 2017

--

I should have told you
Should have made you aware
What you would do to yourself
Don’t entertain the false benevolence
The serenading assassin
Don’t smile at the prostitution
They make a pill for that
I should have told you
The world must pass through the holes in your head
Those voids that swallow space and time
The ones that spit and judge
Turn it into what you see fit
Grab the world and tell it to behave
After all, you know best
Tell them
Show them your teeth
Your unwavering strength
Preach your convictions
They need to hear your gospel
I should have told you
Sometimes they won’t listen
They will burn your cross
Show them your teeth
Whip them with your tongue
Strike them with one hand
And the other
A gift
I should have told you
They need only an incentive
A savior

--

--