The Confrontation

James Common
Literally Literary
Published in
2 min readDec 25, 2019

A Grim Tale about Confrontation with Self, about Inner Voices, about Darkness and Evil, about Fear and Denial, about Grief, about Inner-Demons and then Self-Discovery, Acceptance, Forgiveness and finding the Light out of Dark Abyss of Life.

Photo by Andrei Lazarev on Unsplash

Someone is knocking on the door,
Something is suffocating inside,
But I only hear the deafening whispers,
Suppressing the sound, smothering the light.
I run behind voices, I seek the harbor,
But there’s only void and no ship in sight.

I feel the agony, I hear him roar,
But I let it smother, I don’t open the door.
I’m afraid, I might find something I had lost, oh well,
I’m afraid of the heaven, because I’ve been living in hell.
The pain, the agony, and the elements of night,
I’m not afraid of darkness, I’m afraid of the light.

He knocks harder when everything is quiet,
I scream, and I cry to fend off the fright.
He tries to break the door when I’m alone,
I sell myself to demon and hear him groan.
I thought him the evil when evil was within,
The wretch, who was devil, and the prophet of sin.

I run from him.
I run from him to darker places,
In vile dreams and filthy spaces.
I’m afraid, he will catch me someday,
I’m afraid, I will not get any help,
If I listen to that voice, I’m afraid, I will find my true self.

I hear his groans and I plug my ears.
I don’t want him to find me, he will see through my fears.
He is getting restless, I know he will break free,
He will not stop then, He will come after me.
Wasted all my life and then I realized,
We can only run from him, but we can never hide.

Now that I’m naked, I feel relieved,
Those things don’t bother me now, which I had always grieved.
I lived in the past and I feared for tomorrow,
I thought I want happiness, when I sought only sorrow.
I grieved for no reason, now I have a reason to cry,
No one wants to live lonely, but in the end, that’s how they die.

Show me the face, come into sight,
I’ve seen the darkness, now show me the light.
I have nothing to lose now, I’m not afraid anymore,
I have wandered enough, now show me the shore.
Pain has receded, now there’s only bliss,
Because what was this life, but a glimpse of abyss.

© James Common 2019

--

--

James Common
Literally Literary

The pieces that are close to my heart never see the light. They are fragile. So they are there where they should be, hidden and saved only for my eyes.