The First Sighting

Jess Kaisk
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readNov 1, 2017

Hands sweaty and damp, hands cold and trembling,
nervous glances and shifting thoughts.
Page by page, line by line we fill in the blanks,
and then go stand in line.

Ushered in, measure taken,
not sure if we should be here,
wanting to shout “We’ve been mistaken!”
“Undress from the waist down please, take your gown.”

Slightly sweating now, cold rooms do that,
anxiety and doubt sweeping through me;
she reaches between my legs with gloved hands,
“I’ll just insert this probe here, and we will see.”

Eyes closed, deep breaths, calm thoughts.

“There, there it is. Do you want to see?”
I search his face beside mine, doubt still thick;
black and white glow out of the screen,
there it is.

“Wow” I breathe, staring intently over my knees,
flittering, fluttering, wiggling, squirming…
it’s there, this little thing, a tiny thing;
part of you and part of me,
womb full.

--

--