The Liplock

Antara Kundu
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readAug 30, 2022
Photo by Jordan Graff on Unsplash

What had to break was broken.
But an axe sat tight in my hands too,
An axe that knew your blood.
I didn’t see that then, Senorita!

The nectar we sipped was poisoned.
As we locked lips, our face turned blue,
And in shock we pushed each other.
My sugar sachets had snake venom,
But I thought it was you, Senorita!

When trust is shattered, and a heart is raw,
The pain can blind, Senorita.
I understood, so I forgave you.
But the blind shield was on my eyes too,
I was naive, so naive, Senorita!

You held your tears with magic power,
Pearls adorned your lashes,
Your sweet red lips didn’t part once,
As we parted ways, forever.

Your heart was stone, I told myself,
I walked away in grace.
In grace I built a whole new world,
And I let your coffin rest.

Senorita, I walk back so often now,
I lay in your coffin for hours,
I would kiss your eyes and wipe all tears,
If only you’d weep.
If only you’d weep.

— Antara, 27-May-2022

© Antara Kundu 2022

--

--