The Perfect Box

A poem for when you are going round in circles

Nazneen Rahman
Literally Literary
2 min readAug 23, 2019

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Perfection
is an illusion
An A+ addiction
Exhausting
Futile
Self-indulgent

I will pack it away
with other childish things

And get the hell on with it

From time-to-time
I’ll open my box
of perfections past
Leaf through them
Like old photos
Smiling at my charming naivete.

Did I really think precision
was a substitute for heart?

I’ll use a mahogany box
Hand-carved
Fingertips tracing exquisite detail
Trustworthy
Substantial
Quality.

No, that’s not right

A velvet box
Red-rich
Fingertips sinking into deep pile
Sumptuous
Haute-couture
Valuable

No, I can do better

A hand-jeweled box
One-of-a-kind
Fingertips charting unpredicted contours
Free-spirited
Creative
Original

No, they’re all wrong

I need a tin box
Plain and cheap
Uninteresting to fingertips
Simple
Artifice-free
Honorable

Or maybe the mahogany…

Why is everything so hard?

Try again,
Tomorrow.

--

--

Nazneen Rahman
Literally Literary

Singer-Songwriter, Poet, Scientist, Doctor. Top writer in Music. Inspired by many.