Unboxing Conversation Between Me and Noone

A selfish conversation between me and whoever is at a higher power.

Joshua Theodorus Kurnia
Literally Literary
2 min readMar 16, 2021

--

Photo by Mak on Unsplash

The night is young
Pale moon, grays of cloud
A few twinkles
I wonder
Maybe we live in a box
Stars are holes on the surface

I wanna get out
Let me float slowly
To this light puncture
As I get closer
Rip that hole a bit more for me
So my body could fit
And unbox me, you would

But I can’t float
I’m chained by gravity
So I never know
What’s out there
Beyond my boxy box habitat

So maybe
Do you mind
Opening the lid
Pick me up instead?
Bring me to light
Unbox me that way

No? Because it’s too easy for me?
I guess you’re right
Maybe I’m just trying to run away
Find the easy way out
So sick of dealing with earthlings
I don’t know why I’m here in this box
All I do is collect debts
Only to pay my own overdue ones
Kinda like
The loading rainbow circle of death
You could say

I need a stronger justification, huh?
I just wanna see light
In this never-ending shade
Just…
Utilize me like a fancy toy
Take an unboxing video of me
Upload me to Your Tube
Whatever that is

You’ll go viral
And you’ll thank me for it
Like I never thank anyone
You’ll owe me a big one
And you’ll pay me back
Like I never pay anyone back

What? I owe you something?
What do I owe you?
See… you always say this
And I’m so frustrated
I owe you this, I owe you that
I promise you gold, I take your diamond
I take from you, I give to myself
I receive it, no thanks

Is this why?
Is this why you’re keeping me in the box?
Do I really owe you something?
Do I have any debt?

I guess…
Just Venmo me when you have a chance
Huh? My username?
You gotta unbox me first

--

--

Joshua Theodorus Kurnia
Literally Literary

A global traveler, poet, and observer writing from one stop of his journey at a time.