Vanity (poem)

China Cancio
Literally Literary
Published in
Jun 4, 2022
Photo by Camila Quintero Franco on Unsplash

Swayed like branches during a storm
My faith is not strong enough to stand firm
Consequently, I walk on this narrow path
Towards the precipice where vanity lies.

Clearly, I see the abyss from where I stand
I can either stop or continue to jump
As vain as kings and queens in their kingdoms
I crown myself with vomit and venom.

I drink and get drunk from all of my worldly possessions
But I get thirsty and thirstier the more I hoard
I say I live to please and deplete my life
Evidently now, I am exhausted and tired.

I try and try harder to cleanse my soul
Swayed like branches during a storm
I find myself crowned with more vomit and venom
I fall towards oblivion; heavy and worn.

© China Cancio 2022

--

--