When Love Had Last Come

A free-verse love poem

Andrée Khoury
Literally Literary
1 min readFeb 23, 2020

--

Photo by Anderson Rian on Unsplash

I was pacing up and down
in the archives of ghost towns
to localize, in mankind’s time,
when love had last come.

I couldn’t believe
it had gone extinct, so I
started to watch out
for the rarest stars
even in the blackest skies;
maybe one of them
could shower this earth
with its forgotten light.

I was losing hope; the moon
laughed at me. I was getting ready
to sleep alone again, when you
emerged from the sheets. Oh,
love, I thought I had lost you.

Unlike what I had been told,
love wasn’t a passionate heat,
but a sweet, warm home
where the flames in its fireplace
flashed brighter than lightning
in frozen summits. And that night,
the quiet didn’t numb me; love
whispered to me all I had thought
only existed in novels and books.

--

--

Andrée Khoury
Literally Literary

Poet, storyteller, psychologist and teacher. I wrote about brains and the people who carry them.