Day 3, Yellow Lilies

Yellow Lilies

Showmock Ghosh
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readJan 6, 2019

--

It’s been two years since
We walked on our secret trail.
Two years to the day since,
We trod on the warm grass
The gentle wind, your caressing fingers
Whispering softly in our sail.

It’s been two years now,
We promised each other
We would come back here,
Lie gently, by the sparkling river

You kept your promise,
You never left the riverside,
You’ve been waiting to see me
I know, and I am a little late,
Stopped by to pick up the lilies,
The yellow ones, like you’ve always said

The traffic was terrible,
And I always drive gently
After all, you made me promise, I remember
You were driving while on the phone
So let me lay the yellow lilies,
Two years since, gently by your stone

--

--