Your Birthday

Existence
Literally Literary
Published in
1 min readJul 28, 2019
https://curiator.com/art/heo-jiseon/0

this day will never be the same
not an additional night for romcoms
not an additional day for laughing

it’ll be the day I wish
on behalf of you
for you to venture back and recognise the one you require

it’ll be the day
I have millions of drafts lying awake
just like myself
one click away from being discarded by you

it’ll be the date I’ll attempt to overlook
as merely another on the calendar
another to be wasted away

but I’ll be aware upon awakening;
detecting the peculiar in the air
my suspicion confirming itself when I get a whiff of your scent from the newly washed sheets

the previous day would be forsaken
the day after would be forsaken too
but today’s date will be engraved in my heart
until my last birthday

perhaps when I prodded you to blow out the candles two years ago
I should’ve demanded for you to wish that I’d be beside you the following year

for either you had a contrasting desire
or wishes are merely another part of a child’s fairytale
meant to be brushed aside just like the prospect of finding true love

this day will never be the same

© Existence 2019

--

--