An Accident, I Swear!

A poem about coffee

Ahlam Ben Saga
Literary Impulse
2 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Photo By Lisa from Pexels

At times, it does not rain
At times, it pours
What am I to do with this brain
“Why do you sit there like an envelope
without any address on it.”
— said Mark Twain
I say It feels as though I am riding a train
A journey to nowhere
At times, though, it takes me everywhere
I often knock off coffee beans
They often bounce, and often in my stomach
They sink

An accident, I swear! — I tell my husband
Who says: “Aren’t you sensitive to caffeine?”
From my hand, he snatches the coffee mug
I say why do you have to be so mean!
An accident! I drink coffee by accident!

Those heartbeats that make the writer swoon
That make the typer type
That make the poet weep
With joy and with greed
Behold the curves of the words
Who am I to deny them?
Heart palpitations, they call them?
I call them Café bombón, Expresso Espresso
They cast on me a spell
They are my revelation
Love is an addiction

At times, I rhyme without the beans
At times, my rhymes remain unfinished
The beans, I say to them: Spill the beans, you beans!
They bounce away from me
I let them go, too sleepy to chase
I am guilty, though, of slipping on one bean yesterday
As I fell to the floor with a thud, I made the bean fly
And there, lo and behold…Gulp!

It was not an accident, I confess
The bean made my head spin, I confess
Water it is, then
Or lemon juice?
Regardless, I shall replace the beans
For good health, I go from Nespresso to No-spresso
My rhyme needs not to rhyme
Today or the next day
Hope is what I have left
Hope Is The Thing With… beans

Surely my brain will spill
Its own beans
This week or next week
Surely it will spill
Its own beans
This year or next year!

Do you also love coffee but have caffeine sensitivity? It’s sort of like an unrequited love! But I am determined to stop drinking coffee because it’s just no good for me.

Thank You For Reading

--

--

Ahlam Ben Saga
Literary Impulse

Inspired by nature, the night sky, and the Nine Muses, I write poems from the heart 🌌