FREE VERSE POETRY

An Ode To Hometowns

Based on the Day 24 prompt- hometown

Somsubhra Banerjee
Literary Impulse
Published in
3 min readApr 24, 2021

--

Image clicked by the author, at his hometown

Oh, the sweet pangs of memories, those fond memories,
that keep flooding the tipsy nerves of my brain,
those fragmented nuances, from across borders,
where my little feet found the crispy yellow leaves,
to play upon, where the century-old brick structures,
caressed me as I leaned, laughing my heart out,
do you feel the little nudges, the momentary transportation,
your brain does, in moments, that you fail to fathom?

For Example-

Wandering through those sepia-tinted narrow alleyways,
of a cold and windy city far, far away from the grasps of my hometown,
My hazy eyes, my dizzy brain, keeps trying to find my way, meandering through, those brick lanes, twisting and turning, and,
a portal engulfs me.

My eyes, now conscious, my nerves now awake and surprised,
as I find myself back to the narrow alleyways of my…

--

--

Somsubhra Banerjee
Literary Impulse

A heart that finds solace in mountains, the whispers of old buildings, silences, books, poetry and football.