Conquer the quest

A Gentle Reminder

Lubna Yusuf
Literary Impulse

--

Acrylic on Canvas Lubna Yusuf

‘It’s not the mountains we conquer but ourselves’
- anonymous

Sometimes holding on to patience is like holding a plank. Both require immense practice, skill and will power. Having faith is holding on to something we cannot see but believe in.

We come across situations in life that are completely unexpected and we are unprepared to deal with them. So what should we do in such times? Sometimes we must do nothing but hold on to ourselves and accept the things we cannot change or control. Time unfolds the truth in many ways and peals off the layers from our clouded views and perceptions. In the end we face ourselves and there is clarity and calm. That is when we know that the mountains we climb cannot be conquered but we can conquer ourselves. We can conquer our thoughts, emotions and our dreams and make a life out of this time we have and make something of ourselves.

I look at pictures from the years gone by. So many people I once knew and loved are no more. So many things I took so seriously do not matter anymore. So much of what I thought and believed in turned out to be completely different. I am overwhelmed by the feelings and memories of my experiences, but as I wipe my tears I also tell myself that I too will become a memory one day. I too will just be a photograph framed in time, a faint recollection of times gone by and perhaps a story remembered by someone else. So I let go of this part of life that heavily weighs down upon me and become light. I shed these fragments and embrace the moment, in peace with myself.

A haiku for the thought:

the great mountains teach
to bow in humility
and conquer ourselves

Thank you for reading and for supporting my work with your shares, claps and comments. It means a lot to me.

--

--

Lubna Yusuf
Literary Impulse

BOOKS: www.amazon.com/author/lubnayusuf | Author, Lawyer, Filmmaker, Multidisciplinary Artist |Co-author TheAIBook | Instagram @iglubna