Moments In The Life Of Us- A Somonka

We completed each other

Setraj Jahan
Literary Impulse
2 min readAug 6, 2021

--

I knew it was you
It’s bound to happen someday
Moments I yearned for
Cause I was abandoned far
And you came with the first rain

It’s me who fell first
Like a cherished charm of life
You made me spellbound
Your peaceful eyes I adore
You, my moonlight night darling

Moments In The Life Of Us is a somonka. This Japanese poetry form compiles two tankas. A tanka consists of 31 syllables (in the form of 5–7–5–7–7). So, somonka has a total of 62 syllables (31 in each stanza) included.

The beauty of somonka lies within the expression. It is considered as two love letters from two people. Each tanka is a complete love letter. It goes better with co-authoring. However, one poet can cover them also as I have done here.

I have written this one in response to the Literary Impulse challenge, ‘Uncommon Poetic Forms.’

And here goes the amazing article by Somsubhra Banerjee. You will find all the details about this challenge. Also, you will get to explore the diverse world of some uncommon poetry forms. Happy writing 😊

Thanks, dear Priyanka Srivastava for publishing it. 🥰

--

--

Setraj Jahan
Literary Impulse

From childhood to this age, writing has always engaged my heart with the soul. Now it’s my profession and my lovely little pursuit of deep satisfaction. :)