The Wanderer and his home

A tale of longing

Areeba Ali Khan
Literary Impulse
2 min readApr 24, 2021

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I heard the people gossiping that the wanderer has finally found its place Curious by nature, I couldn’t help but see the wanderer and witness the scenario with my own eyes. I saw him, sitting dormant but his gaze fixed at that one spot. The wanderer is observing the rose from the distance. Now obviously, the distance between his being and his cause has raised so many eyebrows. “Why isn’t he finally going to that rose if that’s what he wished for his entire life?”

The air around him is thick and desperate carrying these questions still unanswered. Some are even mocking him silently saying that he is just being thankless by rejecting the gift. I said to them that he hasn’t rejected it yet. Some are saying that he is just too scared to proceed towards it’s place. I said to them that he hasn’t made a decision yet. But deep down, I’m myself not sure about his true intentions and what will truly prevail after this. Suddenly the wanderer moved and started to speak, lips dry as if they are thirsty since eternity and eyes as empty as a vacant home. The wanderer said..

A part of me wants to run bare feet towards my beautiful home, but the other part convinces me to be cautious. Why God why?
I, the wanderer has finally found it’s lost flower, the scent I was craving my whole life with despair but now I’m more anxious than happy. Why God why?
The wind within tells me is whispering a tragic tale, what is you touch the rose and it withers away like before? What if the rose leaves you again? What if the moment you’ve been wishing for isn’t yours? What will I do then, God?
Part of the truth is vivid to me but I’m hoping this tragic tale to be false. So I have decided to fall silent now.

The wanderer is still dormant, but his intentions are screaming clear. The eyes around him are ignoring the sight filled with mere agony. Though the wanderer might not whisper another word yet we all know he would stay at a distant for an eternity. He will die waiting, because we all know that this rose full of hidden thorns will never become his true home.

--

--