IN RESPONSE TO LI’S PROMPT-HIRAETH

Wistman’s Wood

Only the loneliest of lands leave you yearning

RH
Literary Impulse
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Author’s photo ©RH

Do you ever lay your hand against the trunk of a tree and imagine it
waking? A benediction for solidity, a prayer for some wiser

kind of life. Perhaps that is only my holy, for I do not know what is good
anymore. Who is god anymore. I spent Sunday worshipping in a church I

used to know. There I found a thousand years of windburn and
gnarled flesh curled by the hand of desolation. I laid down inside the

moss, inside the damp palm of that consecrated ground and I was lost, lost
in a cradle of swamp. Above me, I saw a sap-scabbed branch that bled

another’s name. I could not help but think of you: you who I did not
meet. You who I would not hold. You who stroked the hollow of my throat and said:

only these loneliest of lands leave you yearning.

The sun spread its riches across the canopy and I smiled then, for every lost
thread. For every life I could not know.

--

--