COVID 19 and Sanity

Hari
Literary Nuggets
Published in
2 min readJun 21, 2020
Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

These troubling times have affected each one of us differently. This difference has significantly branched out based on the type of person we are.

Some out there are thriving and rejoicing this period of uncertainty while they are left to their own devices.

Some are finding it hard to release all that restless energy stored within them. This energy has been diverted into so many other streams resulting in profound creativeness!

But then there are the few, for whom this lockdown has inevitably delivered a mental hit. Through my daily conversations with my friends, my colleagues, other bookstagrammers and even myself (I do talk to myself and I think it is a very healthy habit), I come to understand that there is this tiny nudge has created a ripple effect which seems to have taken a huge toll on the mind.

At the moment, I’m am remembering, Crime and Punishment, a classic that brings out a person’s feelings towards morality and questions them to a very severe degree. But at the same time, there is a constant reference to the illness of the mind. As I read the book, I understand that most of this is actually brought on by ourselves and without a reasonable outlet to release this plague of thoughts, our mind slowly sinks to depravity.

I am not exempted from this. At the moment, I stay alone. Even if I am able to virtually connect with a lot of my friends, I realize nothing really beats in-person transactions. My subconscious overthinks my past and lately, I’ve been plagued by things that have long passed. I feel an onslaught of moral dilemmas of past actions, the choices, and finally the relationships.

There’s is a dip in the health curve mentally.

I realize that talking about it really helps.

If you feel the same way with something bothering you or you feel sad but you cannot identify what it is, its high time you reached out to someone — your parent, a family member, or even a best friend.

This virus is already taken away our freedom, let’s not let this virus take away our Sanity too.

--

--