His Dark Materials — Series Recommendation

Hari
Literary Nuggets
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2020

Hola! Over the past month, many of you have reached out asking for recommendations across the books that I’ve read. This inspired me to think about starting a recommendation series, a couple of mini-reviews coupled with books that I loved. Today, for the first of many, I thought I’d start off with my favorite genre, fantasy.

A Picture with the 3 books in the trilogy
His Dark Materials

His Dark Materials

Here’s a series that is very close to my heart! I’ve tried to capture the essence of each of the books through a statement or two from my previous reviews. If you’re looking for a unique tale or willing to explore theological fantasy, I’d recommend this to you. Be warned, read it only if you are capable of keeping an open mind and understanding the difference between fantasy and real life.

In this beautiful trilogy, Pullman brings forth a theological fantasy that explores the existence of parallel worlds spanning over 3 books to set in motion a greater plot than life itself.

The Northern Lights

In this riveting tale, a series of incidents set in motion a chain reaction that is shown through the eyes of our protagonist, Lyra, as she uses a magic compass to find her way in a world where witches fly on pine branches, polar bears wear armor and the aurora radiates power and mystical elementary particles.

The Subtle Knife

The Subtle Knife, the second in the series introduces us to the second protagonist of the book, Will Parry who, like Lyra, comes to possess a dark material, the titular knife. He meets Lyra and the two take to each other quickly and the story progresses with new characters as well as old ones.

The Amber Spyglass

Pullman drives forward the story with the dependencies of Will and Lyra’s actions to establish a New Authority or God. With an ending that would leave you teary-eyed and also wholesome at heart.

I’ve read this series twice and it was better the second time I read it! Pretty soon, I intend to make it a third.

--

--