The Herd Mentality

Hari
Literary Nuggets
Published in
2 min readMay 29, 2020
Credits: Unsplash

Feeling left out is one of the hardest things that a human being can go through. By nature, we are designed to be amongst people. Our emotions work on a to and fro framework that involves synchronicity and reciprocation. In short, we are creatures of a herd. That’s why being different in the eyes of the herd can make you feel isolated.

My life has been no walk in the park. From a very young age, I’ve been set aside because people found me different. At the time, I did not know this and it hit me deeply and I often wondered why contemplating my existence and why things are the way it was.

Sure, I was part of a herd but I never felt like I belonged. It took me a while to realize that the animosity I felt was not really my fault. Till the end of my under graduation, I felt I was not cut out for what my world had to offer.

Only when I moved on to my Masters, did I find a reason to belong. It broke lose a different side of me that I had never seen before.

It is such a good feeling, the feeling of belonging. It brings out so much potential that you never knew you had. I’m talking about this now because I know there a lot of people out there who do not feel like they belong.

Well, know this. It isn’t you. You’ve not found the right herd yet. One day you will, so don’t give up hope and keep searching. You’ll find them and believe me, it’ll be the best time of your life.

I wrote the above story for @_anecdotes___

--

--