The Template (Seven Poems)

Paul Brookes
3 min readMar 30, 2017

--

Photo By Paul Brookes

My Scarylife

Scaryborn to this world
this scaryearth I scarylearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was scaryready

to be scarywed, so we scarymarried
after three months of scarycourting

She scarybore our first kid
after six months whilst I scaryworked

in scaryemployment scaryunexpected
scarypromoted to scarymanager

so we scarybought our first scaryhome,
Scaryfurnitured it, after scarydecorating

I had an scaryallottment where I scarygrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages

She scarydied after seven years scaryfighting
lung cancer. I never scaryremarried

Scarybring up our second child,
scarytell her scarystories of our scarylived scarylife

My Freaklife

Freakborn to this freakworld
this freakearth I freaklearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was freakready

to be freakwed, so we freakmarried
after three months of freakcourting

she freakbore our first kid
after six months whilst I freakworked

in freakemployment freakexpected
freakpromoted to freakmanager

so we freakbought our first freakhome,
freakfurnitured it, after freakdecorating.

I had a freakallottment where I freakgrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She freakdied after seven years freakfighting
lung cancer. I never freakremarried.

Freakbring up our second child,
freaktell her freakstories of our freaklived freaklife.

A Littlelife

Littleborn to this littleworld
this littleearth I littlelearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was littleready

to be littlewed, so we littlemarried
after three months of littlecourting.

She littlebore our first kid
after six months whilst I littleworked

In littleemployment littleexpected
littlepromoted to littlemanager

so we littlebought our first littlehome,
littlefurnitured it, after littledecorating.

I had an littleallottment where I littlegrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She littledied after seven years littlefighting
lung cancer. I never littlemarried.

Littlebring up our second child,
littletell her littlestories of our littlelived littlelife.

A Madlife

Madborn to this madworld
this madearth I madlearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was madready

to be madwed, so we madmarried
after three months of madcourting.

she madbore our first kid
after six months whilst I madworked

in mademployment madunexpected
madpromoted to madmanager

so we madbought our first madhome,
madfurnitured it, after maddecorating.

I had an madallottment where I madgrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She maddied after seven years madfighting
lung cancer. I never madremarried.

Madbring up our second child,
madtell her madstories of our madlived madlife.

The Smartlife

Smartborn to this smartworld
this smartearth I smartlearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was smartready

to be smartwed, so we smartmarried
after three months of smartcourting

she smartbore our first kid
after six months whilst I smartworked

in smartemployment smartexpected
Smartpromoted to smartmanager

so we smartnought our first smarthome,
Smartfurnitured it, after smartdecorating.

I had an smartallottment where I smartgrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She smartdied after seven years smartfighting
lung cancer. I never smartmarried.

Smartbring up our second child,
smarttell her smartstories of our smartlived smartlife.

My Screenlife

Screenborn to this screenworld
this screenearth I screenlearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was screenready

to be screenwed, so we screenmarried
after three months of screencourting.

She screenbore our first kid
after six months whilst I screenworked

in screenemployment screenunexpected
screenpromoted to screenmanager

so we screenbought our first screenhome,
screenfurnitured it, after screendecorating.

I had an screenallottment where I screengrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She screendied after seven years screenfighting
lung cancer. I never screenremarried.

Screenbring up our second child,
screentell her screenstories of our screenlived screenlife.

A Dreamlife

Dreamborn to this dreamworld
this dreamearth I dreamlearned

in school, met a lass
who said she was dreamready

to be dreamwed, so we dreammarried
after three months of dreamcourting

she dreambore our first kid
after six months whilst I dreamworked

in dreamemployment dreamunexpected
dreampromoted to dreammanager

so we dreambought our first dreamhome,
dreamfurnitured it, after dreamdecorating.

I had a dreamallottment where I dreamgrew
carrots and potatoes and cabbages.

She dreamdied after seven years dreamfighting
lung cancer. I never dreamremarried.

Dreambring up our second child,
dreamtell her dreamstories of our dreamlived dreamlife.

--

--

Paul Brookes

Writer, historian,fam & loc., shop assist., security guard, postman, admin. assistant, photographer, lecturer, performer with "Rats for Love". Counter intuitive