Can Reading Literary Fiction Make You a Better Person?

The scientific answer is YES

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
7 min readSep 22, 2020

--

Photo by Muzammil Soorma on Unsplash

Does what you read affect your personality?

When I was a kid, I remember going to the library and falling in love with a collection of books neatly lined up the shelf. They were all the same size with vivid-colored covers, and each told the story of a strong woman. I gobbled up the whole series, finding ferocity in the stories of Amelia Earhart, Clara Barton, Marie Curie, and Eleanor Roosevelt.

Did reading those books when I was young make me braver, smarter, more diplomatic, more tolerant?

Did the fact that I read Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys mysteries at every opportunity improve my deductive reasoning and critical thinking skills?

Did my sensitive heart and sentimental brain develop because I read stories about courageous people in dire situations around the globe?

The answer is “yes.”

Reading and “experience-taking”

Research is just beginning to show how reading books can affect our personality and behavior. Scientists call it, “experience-taking,” which means absorbing a little bit of a character from reading and then having your attitudes or behaviors unintentionally changed…

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.