If You Could Choose 3 Writers to Come to Your Dinner PartyTonight…

Who would they be?

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
8 min readNov 6, 2020

--

Photo by Scott Warman on Unsplash

A Common Question in Literary Interviews

I love reading author interviews because I get a glimpse into their writing process. Where do they get their ideas? What is their impetus for writing? story? What methods do they use to develop characters, research facts, and build worlds?

A common question in author interviews is,

“If you could invite three writers to a literary dinner party at your house, who would you choose?”

That question thrills me, and I’ve given it some thought. As a reader and a writer, there are dozens of authors I’d like to meet. Each book I read has an author whose brain I’d like to pick. Each writer offers a conversation I’d love to engage in. But if I could only pick three, I’d pick…

Louise Penny, creator of the Inspector Gamache Series and the Village of Three Pines

Louise Penny: Photo by Ian Crysler, Wikipedia Creative Commons, Public Domain

I never think of myself as a “groupie,” always more comfortable walking my own path and observing from afar. But…

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.