Five Helpful Tips For Choosing Which Books to Take on a Trip

Deciding on a small portable library

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
6 min readDec 30, 2020

--

Photo by hannah grace on Unsplash

The Joy and Stress of Extended Travel

If you love to travel, but you also love your possessions, you know how hard it is to decide what to take with you. It’s even harder when you’ve got a co-dependent relationship with books.

I’ve had the many blessings of trips around the world, getting the chance to travel to China, Europe, Nevis, and destinations around the United States. But I also love my home and am comfortable working alone every day, burrowed in my office, cozied up to my computer, a happy, hibernating, homebody.

So while I’m excited to flee to warmer Southern climes and spend the winter “snowbirding” where the weather is not gray and the temperatures rise above freezing, leaving home stresses me out. Honestly, I have a hard time separating myself from my stuff, especially my books.

I can’t live without books. I need them in a physical sense. I need to touch them, use them, read them, study them. I make marginalia in every book I open. I derive satisfaction from the smell of ink, the feel of the pages, and the pattern of print on paper. Books are my daily companions and helpmates.

Campers and Books Go Together

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.