How Many Pulitzer Prize-Winning Novels Have You Read?

I haven’t read nearly enough!

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

--

Joseph Pulitzer instituted the Pulitzer Prizes in 1904. Photo: Shutterstock

Learn what’s “a distinguished representation of American life and get a good “read” in the process

I think I’m pretty well-read. I consume 3–5 books per month, averaging a little over fifty per year when I combine my intake of print books and audiobooks. I read reviews, browse bookstores, and peruse publishing websites, selecting books that appeal to me but that are also notable in the world of literature.

So imagine my surprise when I discovered that I have only a 20% reading rate of the Pulitzer prize-winning novels over the last twenty years.

As a reader, writer, and lover of history, I should know what is considered to be literature worthy of acknowledgment: profound stories articulated in meaningful language that express the experience of living in America.

Maybe you’re doing better than I am, but if not, there’s still time.

Joseph Pulitzer, the giver of prizes

Joseph Pulitzer was born to a wealthy Jewish family in Hungary in 1847. Because of a severe case of wanderlust in his late teens, Pulitzer tried to enlist in three different mercenary groups. He was…

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.