How to Find More Money for Book Buying: Five Practical Ideas

Stretching the bibliophile’s budget

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
7 min readJun 10, 2021

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

If you’re a bibliophile with a limited budget, you know how hard it is to cover your book purchases when you have to have a place to live, food to eat, and clothes to wear….not to mention insurance, internet, transportation, utilities, appliances, cleaning products, and home maintenance.

I’m not where Desiderius Erasmus Roterodamus was yet, but I understand where he was coming from when he said,

“When I get a little money, I buy books; if any is left, I buy food and clothes.”

If books are your passion and you have a limited income, you have to find ways to buy them without breaking your bank.

Here are five methods I’ve used to get my next “hit,” because, as Franz Kafka noted,

“Books are a narcotic.”

1) Book of the Month Subscription

Back in the 1980s when I was a young adult who loved to read and was just starting out as a writer, I got giddy when my Book-of-the-Month catalog arrived in the mail. I would spend hours carefully combing through the pages reading the seductive blurbs describing each of the wondrous books I could buy.

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.