Joy Jolt for Readers, Writers, and Thinkers

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readOct 24, 2020

--

Literature Lust Love Letter #6

Photo by Dan Freeman on Unsplash

Hi, friends!

I hope this Saturday morning finds you safe and well. In my Midwestern neck of the woods, the trees are losing their leaves, the temperature is dropping, and the days are getting shorter. I’m a little sad because I’m a summer-time girl, thriving in hot temperatures and intense sunlight. While I associate fall with the loss of warmth and the inevitable arrival of winter, I remind myself that with cool temperatures and long, dark evenings, I have more time inside to read and write.

A lot of people are talking about the changes in Medium. I dislike the loss of curation which was an affirmation of the quality of my writing and which I think helped people find me. But since I rarely make more than $50.00 a month on Medium and don’t have thousands of followers, I’ll roll with whatever Medium does. The changes they make aren’t important. Nothing squashes my need to write and my need for a platform that delivers my work.

What IS important is YOU. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU for reading. I need you and appreciate you.

Here are your joy jolts for this week:

For Readers:

The Overstory: An Epic Tale of Our Relationship With Trees

For Writers:

Unexpected Effects of the Pandemic on the Publishing Industry

For Thinkers:

4 Amazing Reasons Your Brain is Buffer Than You Imagined

p.s. On the 1st and the 15th of every month, I send out a detailed newsletter with insights into the publishing industry and literary world.

It’s a literary love letter just for you.

Sign up here.

With warmest words and wishes,
Melissa

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.