Why I’m Thankful to be a Writer

And why you may be, too

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust
Published in
6 min readNov 26, 2019

--

Old typewriter with page and single typed word: Gratitude
Photo: Shutterstock

The Top “Two”

Two aspects of the writer’s life get talked about all the time.

  1. How to attract a following and earn money
  2. How to handle the hardships of the occupation.

The first, “making money”

First, let me just say that attracting a following would be awesome. I’d love to seduce people with my words and attract a following of “virtual groupies.” People who “get” my message and who would buy my work, advertise on my website, and sign up for my newsletter. Readers who become loyal clients, spread my name to other people, and read everything I write all the way through, applauding and sharing every time.

And to earn money while doing it? WOW.

What writer DOESN’T want that? That’s part of the plan, after all.

But there’s a second thing that writers talk about a lot.

The second, why a career in writing is so difficult

We commiserate about the hardships and perils of the business.

  • It’s hard to get clients.
  • The next gig is elusive.
  • Paychecks are erratic.

--

--

Melissa Gouty
Literature Lust

Writer, teacher, speaker, and observer of human nature. Content for HVAC & Plumbing Businesses. Author of The Magic of Ordinary. LiteratureLust and GardenGlory.