Adaptation of The Great Gatsby

Emily Cristine Jimenez
LitPop
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2018

What most people do is read the book, before the movie comes out! I did exactly that! I read the novel, The Great Gatsby, and I absolutely loved the book. It’s known to be one of the greatest novels in American literature. The Great Gatsby is an excellent adaptation because the details of novel were all in the movie! The Great Gatsby is a great story that is about Jay Gatsby and his life that is being told in the eyes of Nick Caraway. The 2013 movie with Leonardo DiCaprio was a great adaption to the novel because in the novel it seemed to be that Jay Gatsby was a charming man, and Leonardo DiCaprio played the part perfectly, because he sure is charming! Wink, wink !

The movie had the same exact details as the novel. The novel kept you engaged, and made you feel like you had to keep reading, as if you didn’t want to stop! The movie did the same thing, once you started it, you just wanted to sit there and finish the whole movie, because it was just so good. While I was watching the movie I felt as if I was rereading the novel because everything happen as it did in the story. In the novel one thing that Nick did that made it a great adaption to the movie, is that he describes most things as extraordinary and luxurious, and once you begin to watch the movie, the movie is all about how extraordinary and luxurious the life of Jay Gatsby came to be.

Being able to read the novel kept me entertained, but being able to see the novel be turned into a movie, made me love the novel so much more. In my opinion, I believe the movie adaption of The Great Gatsby was great, unlike other movies where you are just thinking, “That didn’t even happen in the book!” Seeing the movie come to life was such a great thing, because when a movie follows the same plot and setting as the story, the audience feels much more engaged.

--

--