Into the Spider-Verse: A Universe You Won’t Wanna Leave

Stephanie A Sivak
LitPop
Published in
4 min readMar 1, 2019
Photo Credit

Animation is probably my favorite medium to consume. Many of my favorite movies and tv shows are animated, and I’m always so amazed by how animation can create worlds that are so great for escapism, and yet still often times tell amazing stories. I can barely contain my excitement for the upcoming How to Train Your Dragon film (speaking of animation — just take a look at the massive tone changes between the films in that trilogy). I am also an avid award-season watcher, so when Spiderman: Into the Spider-Verse won for Best Animated Feature Film my animation-antennae went up. It was up against a more than decent Disney entry, albeit a sequel, in Ralph Breaks the Internet along with Disney/Pixar’s Incredibles 2, and avant-garde darling Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs.

Photo Credit

I had always intended on seeing Into the Spider-Verse. From previews it looked visually stunning, the single “Sunflower” from the soundtrack was really appealing setting a fresh, modern tone, and I had been waiting for a good Miles Morales portrayal since the easter-egg in Spiderman: Homecoming when recent Grammy award-winner Donald Glover’s minor character mentioned having a nephew in the neighborhood! What I didn’t realize was that even at a past-my-bedtime showing I wouldn’t want the movie to end because it was such a fun ride!

The movie is centered around Miles Morales, a new student at a private school in a universe where Peter Parker is the practically perfect (although tired) vigilante who keeps NYC safe. Miles has barely a day to get used to being like Spider-Man before a particle accelerator is activated by Kingpin for his own reasons and pulls several other versions of Spider-Man into Miles’ world from other parallel universes including: a coming up on middle-aged Peter B. Parker, slapstick cartoon character Spider-Ham, Noir Spider-Man, tech-genius Peni Parker from a distant future, and fan-favorite Spider-Gwen. The Spider-Gang need to stop Kingpin and the particle accelerator from ripping New York apart, and also find a way back to their home dimensions before they glitch out.

The movie makes moves towards having diverse representation; main protagonist Miles Morales is of African-American and Puerto Rican descent. He has a loving family including his police officer dad and nurse mom who enroll him in a private school and treat him with love, empathy, and concern. There are some marvelous examples of women in STEM, too- including Peni Parker, Dr. Olivia, a lead scientist at Alchemax, and the movie even suggests that Aunt May (voiced by Lily Tomlin!) has some science and technology background.

Photo Credit. Women in STEM! For the eagle-eyed there’s some foreshadowing here with her glasses, although its a bit of a spoiler. What an attention to detail!

The film uses every second and also the medium to full advantage. Text boxes and effects give the impression that you are transported into a moving comic book. There’s something appealing about the character design and their expressive faces. There were times where I really did cry in solidarity with them. The pacing did not let me down in any part of the film-it expertly balanced action and emotion. I was particularly impressed with Jake Johnson’s portrayal of an cynical, aged Peter B. Parker. I have never watched New Girl so I did not come in with any excitement about this casting, but he blew me away. He does a great job with a range of emotions and moments throughout the film. I think of him as a Spider-Dad to Miles. He isn’t the mentor Miles expected, but he’s the one he gets and the movie is all the better for it.

The best part of the movie is that it does away with, or at least revises that clichéd line about capitol “R” Responsibility-“With great power comes great Responsibility”. Instead, this movie concedes that we have choices in how we use our gifts and our talents. Those choices can be hard. Sometimes, with good intentions we want to guide people into making the choices we think are best for them. But Miles’ dad has my favorite line of the whole movie:

“I see the spark in you, it’s amazing. Whatever you chose to do with it you’ll be great”

Photo Credit

I’d be remiss in not mentioning I teared up a little bit even typing that out. Not only does Miles’ story talk about choices but there is an emphasis on potential. Another favorite quote of mine comes from Miles’ uncle who says:

“You’re the best of all of us, Miles. You’re on your way. Just… keep going… just keep going.”

Photo Credit

Miles has so much potential; as a student, as a person, as a friendly, neighborhood Spider-Man. And there’s hope for Peter B. Parker as well. He can rise up to be all the things he has convinced himself he’s not, and by his own choices. This movie has so much depth, that I can’t wait to dive in and watch it again!

--

--

Stephanie A Sivak
LitPop
Writer for

High School English teacher, Grad student, cat lady, and super nerd. I’m not silently judging your grammar (trust me, mine is worse!)