Ode on BoilerKey

Heather Augustyn
LitPop
Published in
1 min readNov 24, 2018

My task awaits, and a burning ire pains,

My memory, turn’d to where my phone hath plunked

For access ungained

Uncover neath blanket with drink on couch sunk

From nest o’ inquiry that hath been

In Lethe-wards, fade away to happiness and mirth,

Cleav’d asunder

To thine PIN

Comma and randomly-generated six-digit number insert

Gate open’d, to divine boards of black wonder!

A lapse in fastidiousness I err

A dull opiate takes my fingers from keys to stray

My sense, bereft of heed and care

Keeps passage to pastoral portals at bay.

O, token, I call you murderous names in a mused mind!

To repeat thine attempt once more in vain

While fury pours forth from hell, a whirl, a flurry

That thou, sentinel cipher most unkind

Gaze from calm study disturb’d, my bane

Prudent endeavor now, cease thine hurry.

Alas! Such ecstasy! Ye enter here!

All hope not abandoned

Pouring forth thy soul, my courses are near

Forward now move as planned.

--

--