Can men sense that I’m pregnant, and well … fertile?

Little bump
Little bump
Published in
2 min readMay 1, 2015

--

I’ve been asked out twice in the past week. The first at Sainsbury’s at the checkout line and the other at Caffe Nero while waiting for a cappuccino.

At Sainsbury’s I looked like a wreck. I was wearing tracksuit bottoms, a sweater, my hair was up in pony tail and I wasn’t wearing any make-up.

I went in for a couple things, and came out with and unexpected advance from the man in front of me at the checkout line. (And to be honest, he was really good looking — very tall, dark hair and professional).

I’m not sure how it happened, but he seemed to be taking a long time bagging his groceries. He then looked at me, apologized, and I said: “Don’t worry, I have nothing else to do tonight,” and continued reading the tabloid headlines.

I only had five items, and so it only took less than a minute for me to pay. The whole time him fussing with his bags. I started walking out the door and he walked along side me. I didn’t pay much attention, but he started talking to me: “How was your day”, “It’s busy in here tonight”, that sort of thing.

He then unlocked his bicycle, I said “bye” and he then asked if I wanted to get a drink. I was a bit dumbfounded, didn’t say anything and walked away. I didn’t mean to be rude, but it was just so shocking.

Then, this morning, I went to Caffe Nero for a cappuccino, and the man behind me paid for it. I didn’t even know there was someone behind me! Next thing I know, he’s talking to me and asking if I want to sit down with him. I declined, as I was in a rush, but again I just felt so confused.

I haven’t been asked out in years. I’m married, I wear a wedding band, and men have never been that forward before (even when I was single!).

So I came home, did a little research, and it’s true. Men can sense with a woman is fertile and ready for pregnancy (or in my case, already pregnant). It’s something to do with the way they walk and carry themselves.

So I’m not sure how much longer this is going to continue, but I’ll never decline a free coffee! Bring on the attention!

--

--