What’s in a name? Baby names are so important.

Little bump
Little bump
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2015

--

I got The Baby Name Wizard yesterday. My husband and I just can’t agree on any names. He wants the more traditional (boring!) names: Charles, Peter or Charlotte. Whereas I’m after something a bit more unique: Casper, Christina or Atticus.

I like how the book gives the names of the brothers and sisters of the chosen name. Such as:

The traditional William. Brothers: James, Thomas, Edward, Charles, Stephen, Henry, Andrew or Robert. Sisters: Anna, Elizabeth, Sarah, Emily, Caroline, Margaret, Julia or Katherine.

Or a little out there Sage. Brothers: Chance, Holden, Lane, River, Paxton or Reed. Sisters: Sierra, Rowan, Bay, Piper, Willow or Raine.

I also really like the description of the names. For Dixie: You’ll find Georgias and Carolinas north of the Mason-Dixon Line, but Dixie is one name that’s strictly a Southern belle. As a nickname for the southeastern U.S., its connotations are constantly evolving. As a name for a person, it has the kind of sassy kick that even Northern urbanites love. This could make a heck of a nickname, if you’re willing to stretch a little for a formal version (Candice or Madison, maybe?) In the World: The Dixie Chicks band, actress Dixie Carter, song: I Wish I Was in Dixie, Dixie cups.

There are also some names I haven’t heard for a long time: Mildred, Minerva or Ned. These just seem a bit dead.

My only criticism would be that the brothers and sisters are somewhat predictable. Of course if you like the name Elizabeth, you’ve probably thought about Katherine, Anna, Margaret, Caroline, Julia, Josephine, Sarah or Victoria. I really wish the author would add something a big unusual. Four names down from Elizabeth is Ellery. Never hard of the name, but it’s got a nice ring to it. It’s also on way up in popularity. In 2011, it was the 1215 most popular name.

When I was a kid, it was all about the Ashleys, before that it was Jennifer. Now there seem to be quite a lot of Sophias, Olivias and Isabellas. Though I’m not very keen on these type of names. Whatever my husband says, I’m going for something not mainstream. After all, I’m pushing!

--

--