Top Ten Ways I Distracted Myself From Writing In 2016

by Lisa Mecham

Little Fiction
Little Fiction | Big Truths
3 min readDec 23, 2016

--

I’m a big fan of procrastination. Would never get any writing done without pushing myself to the brink of utter anxiety and desperation over a deadline. Here are ten ways I kept myself from working this year.

1. Momentum

Added this handy-dandy dashboard to my Chrome browser. It’s supposed to eliminate distraction but I use it to get lost in gorgeous photo backgrounds, quotes and to-do lists. You know you’re a master procrastinator when you’re able to turn a productivity tool into a time waster.

2. Twitter

My only social media vice. Here are some folks who’ve made me think/laugh/feel this year:

@akamami

@alexanderchee

@AmySilverberg

@brandonrambles

@djolder

@jerichobrown

@KavehAkbar

@keah_maria

@kieselaymon

@monetwithlove

@morganapple

@Oniropolis

@Paul_Lisicky

@sarahkendzior

3. Howard Stern Show

Been a listener for over twenty years. I contain multitudes. Hit ’Em With The Hein.

4. Swissmiss Blog

Tina Roth Eisenberg is a Swiss designer based in Brooklyn. She started swissmiss in 2005 as a “personal visual archive” and it’s one of my favorite blogs. I read it everyday but especially look forward to her Friday Link Packs.

5. Wishing I could commit to something on a daily basis

I saw one of Craig Stephens’ paintings of a Hostess Ho Ho hanging at a friend’s house and loved it. I tracked him down and fell head over heels for his aesthetic (the everyday rendered gorgeously in still life) and his artistic discipline (since 2014, he decided to paint one small painting every day).

6. Meditation

Am I really one of those people? Shit, I am. This may be the only healthy vice I’ve got. Highly recommend:

Tara Brach

Headspace

Insight Timer

7. Wondering about what’s out there

Used this applet to deliver an incredible Astronomy Picture of the Day into my inbox every day. It’s a nice reminder of what’s happening beyond Planet Earth. As Albert Einstein supposedly said, “Two things are infinite: the universe and human stupidity.”

8. Searching for music to write to

I waste a lot of time tracking down soundtracks that help me write. Oh, the irony. Here are a few I came to love this year:

Black Mirror, “Nosedive” Episode by Max Richter

High Rise by Clint Mansell

Jackie by Mica Levi

Moonlight by Nicholas Britell

Stranger Things by Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein

9. Listening to podcasts

Best way to not write and yet still feel like I’ve accomplished something. Some of my favorites:

2 Dope Queens

Code Switch

Commonplace: Conversations with Poets (and Other People)

Good Life Project

On Being

You Must Remember This

10. Visual Distractions

Art, architecture, weather maps, miscellany… I have a wandering eye that feeds my curious brain. I often fall down the rabbit hole of these sites.

1000 Drawings

ARCHatlas

Arch Daily

The Cool Hunter

Dark Silence In Suburbia

Dark Sky

Dezeen

The Jealous Curator

Lynda Barry

Miss Moss

New York Public Library — Public Domain Collections

Rabih Alameddine’s Twitter feed

May you live long and procrastinate!

About the author

If we were making our own list of our favorite people on Twitter, Lisa would definitely be at the top. And if were making another list about the best ways to procrastinate, reading her work (which you can do in Amazon’s Day One, Mid-American Review, and BOAAT, among other publications) would also be at the top there, too.

Originally published at littlefiction.com.

--

--

Little Fiction
Little Fiction | Big Truths

Short story singles and anthologies. We also publish nonfiction @BigTruths. #fuckyeahshortstories