On creation // happylights.co

Holland Hettinger
2 min readJun 12, 2015

--

Some time ago, I read the following on Swiss Miss:

We have to stop being defined by what we own, and start being defined by what we create.

I reflected on the amount of time I spend thinking about all the things I “need” to make my house perfect…the perfect headboard. The perfect nightstands. The perfect lamps. Maybe some new, blue velvet couch covers?

I wrote to myself:

I have to stop defining myself by what I own, and start defining myself by what I create.

I believe, as Oprah so perfectly states, that the universe tries to teach us over and over again…

I say the universe speaks to us, always, first in whispers. …And if you don’t pay attention to the whisper, it gets louder and louder and louder. …If you don’t pay attention to that, it’s like getting a brick upside your head. You don’t pay attention to that — the brick wall falls down. That is the pattern that I see in my life and so many other people’s lives. And so, I ask people, ‘What are the whispers? What’s whispering to you now?’

I think my whisper was, “Create. Don’t consume.”

Another whisper came via James Clear:

Try not to become a man of success. Rather become a man of value.

I asked myself: What have I created? What do I want to create?

It took time for me to actualize these whispers, and I came to learn that creation is vastly more filling than consumption. And, in fact, creation completely obliterates consumption.

I embarked on a new project recently, one I’m calling Happy Lights. I can’t wait to share more with you.

<3

February 17, 2015

June 11, 2105

--

--