delight.fm: days 14 & 15

UI updates and importing new albums

Ryan Strickler
Little King: Daily Log
1 min readFeb 14, 2017

--

Yesterday I worked on some design updates. Now that the artist importing is working, I discovered that there are occasionally artists who don’t have an image available. Or at least it’s not coming through with the track information as I’m processing it currently. A blank box isn’t very exciting, so I added the artist name to give some clarity.

Even with this, it’s funny how many of these artists I don’t recognize. A lot of them are guests on tracks where I’m primarily interested in another artist or added a song from a random playlist. This could be a fun feature. Might be interesting to see if the crossover is useful and the notifications for those artists are helpful. If it’s annoying, I might provide a way to remove artists from the list.

Today, I started working on importing new albums. There’s some complexity involved and there’s overlap with the other importing tasks. The code is starting to feel a little heavy and unclear, so it’s probably time to add some tests and do a little refactoring.

--

--

Ryan Strickler
Little King: Daily Log

Building something every day. Launching something new every 6 weeks. Writing about everything along the way.