Book Review- Beyond The Bright Sea

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
2 min readApr 14, 2022

WHAT I THOUGHT OF THIS BOOK

I really liked this book because it was quite realistic (Not non-fiction, though) and I could imagine that happening.

All the little details and characters really made it more real and fun to read. In my head I could see the story play out in front of me.

I absolutely loved this book and this morning, I woke up at 5:30 AM and the first thing I did was sit in the balcony, with only moonlight as my light source, and read for hours.

I loved the fact that the islands and the settings were real places and all the characters were unique in their own way. Also that instead of being a typical happy ending- it was another type of happy ending which I loved.

The only thing I would have changed was making her past a little more dramatic, or more of a “twist in the tale”

Overall, this was an ok book but I recommend it for people who like gripping books with actions, though not for people who like suspense.

(Rating at the bottom of the post)

WHAT THIS BOOK IS ABOUT

This book is written by Lauren Wolk

12 year old Crow never thought about her past. But she begins to question it. When she was a baby she was put in a skiff and floated all the way to a small Elizabeth island, where she was brought up by shy, isolated Osh.

Miss Maggie, Osh’s friend, taught her maths, reading, and writing. Until one day she overheard a conversation between Osh and Miss Maggie.

She begins to think she was of some mysterious past, and that might be why nobody touched her, didn’t allow her into places and always sanitizes everything she touches.

Will she ever find out who she is?

I rate this book 7 ❤s out of 10 ❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com