Book Review- Danny The Champion of the World

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
2 min readApr 28, 2022
Image Credit: Amazon.in

WHY I LIKED THIS BOOK

I love all of Roald Dahl’s books. Most are fantasy-ish (Like the BFG or the Twits) but this one felt like it was a real experience.

I loved the main part where Danny and his dad go to the Hazells Wood, it was full of action, fun, and very suspenseful. The whole time I was biting my nails, not realizing it, and next morning my nails looked like they had been chewed by a raccoon!

This was a fun book and I liked how they included funny poaching techniques as well!

This might become one of my new favorite Roald Dahl books because of the humor, the comedy ending and all the hilarious characters!

Another thing I’d like to add is that all the illustrations were really amazing and the only thing I regret is reading it on the Kindle because I couldn’t see the drawings very well.

I recommend this book for everyone, and especially Roald Dahl fans!

(Rating at the bottom of this post)

WHAT THIS BOOK IS ABOUT

This book is written by Roald Dahl

Danny lives with his dad. He loves it. His dad is a mechanic so they spend the whole day making machines in their workshop.

Danny never went to school, he was always too busy helping his dad. When Danny turns 7, he has to go to school.

For 2 years everything was ok. But one night, Danny was 9, he woke up at 10:30 at night, and wanted his dad. He looked everywhere, but his dad had disappeared. So, he went outside and saw his dad coming back, from the direction of Hazell’s Wood!

His dad explained that he loves poaching, the art of stealing pheasants, and he had promised Danny’s mum he wouldn’t. But his dad said he was longing for poaching, so he had to.

Danny now starts to learn tricks of poaching, and Victor Hazell, a man no one likes, is hosting his annual pheasant shooting party, Danny and his dad are on a mission to poach 200 pheasants, an unheard feat, in one night.

Read more to find out if Danny and his dad can pull it off!

I rate this book 10 ❤s out of 10❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com