Book Review- Hello, Universe

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
2 min readMar 3, 2022

WHY I LIKED THIS BOOK

I loved this book because all the characters were interconnected and it was really an amazing read. This book was from different points of view which made it super engaging and I like reading books like these.

This was similar to one of the other books written by the same author, Erin Entrada Kelly, We Dream Of Space. (Check out book review) This is also similar to Wonder, (Check out book review) written by R.J Palacio, not in plot but the layout where there are different points of view.

I also liked that they gave the point of view from “the bully”, which is very rarely included. It made me see from another point of view.

I loved that Kaori was just 12 and she was running a (not quite successful) business. I also liked that Valencia was different and not a “typical” character.

All the characters were interesting, kind (Or in Chet’s context- not-so-kind) and unique.

This book was amazing and I loved it from the start to the finish. Overall I would read it again and again, I recommend this book for sure, and I’m definitely searching for more books by this author!

(Rating at the bottom of the post)

WHAT THE BOOK IS ABOUT

This book is written by Erin Entrada Kelly

Virgil “Turtle” Salinas is extremely shy. Only his LoLa (his grandma) takes him seriously. His family overflows with personality and he’s sure he’s a Grand Failure compared to them.

Shy and awkward Virgil would never imagine being able to talk to daring and stubborn Valencia Somerset. But he’s sure they’re meant to be friends.

Valencia is deaf and can hear only with her hearing aids, but still, it’s tough. When her friend Roberta stops talking to her, she begins to have nightmares about being alone.

Kaori Tanaka is sure she’s psychic and she used to have another life where she was a rebellion fighter. She believes all things are meant to be for a reason.

Chet Bullens, The Bull, is the local bully. He picks on everyone else in school, especially Virgil. He wants to be a basketball player. That’s the only chance he has of being an athlete. But it’s not meant to be.

Virgil and Valencia both go visit Kaori Tanaka, who predicts fortunes and reads the stars. But when Chet (a.k.a “The Bull”) plays an unthinkable prank, Virgil’s life is in danger.

With Kaori trying to tie together Virgil and Valencia’s fate, Valencia looking for a boy she barely knows, Virgil’s life hanging by a thread and Chet sure he’s dying, all of them, though they might not know it, are tied to each other’s fate.

I rate this book 9 ❤s out of 10 ❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com