Book Review- The 1000 Year Old Boy

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
3 min readFeb 10, 2022

WHAT I THOUGHT OF THIS BOOK

Ok to summarise, I loved it.

It was so deep and so thought out in the plot and characters, that I just fell inside the book. Literally. My face almost went into it with the suspense.

It had so many amazing parts, and not a single part which I would remove. While it was deep and moving, it had its funny bits. That’s what I found amazing.- Most “deep” books are really profound, but this one was profound, but while keeping it’s (really) funny bits.

I really love the characters, and I love how it shows 2 points of view. Alfie, and Aidan’s.

Alfie’s point of view was kind of sad, and unhappy, while also being funny in how he thought. Because of how old he was, he talked really differently and it made it really real and believable.

The book was absolutely amazing, and it had a strange “vibe” in some parts. It made the book seem a little spooky and scary, which I liked, but it was slightly unsettling. That made the book no less amazing for sure and for me, it made the book more suspenseful and fun to read.

Aidan’s point of view was a normal point of view compared to Alfie’s. It was what any normal kid would think if someone just told them that he was 1000 years old. It kind of contrasted Alfie and made them completely different, while being similar. While Aidan was a normal (ish) kid, he was unique too, because he was very believing and he also had trouble in school and at home.

I really liked Roxy too, because of how funny and smart she was. In total, this was a really amazing book and I recommend it.

WHAT THIS BOOK IS ABOUT

“There are lots of stories about people who want to live forever. This is not one of those stories. This is about someone who wants to stop.”

Alfie Monk is a regular 11-year old. Apart from the fact that he’s a thousand years old and he can remember World War 1.

When he turned 11 (about a thousand years ago) he swallowed a livperler- a life pearl. Which makes you live forever, though not un-killable. And, there’s only one left. Because his cat ate the other one.

Alfie lives with his Mam because his Da died years ago. But when there’s a fire in their house and everything he loves and knows is destroyed, he seeks the help of Aidan and Roxy, two regular kids. No, they’re not 1000 years old.

He hates being able to live forever because it means he can’t have any friends. They’ll grow up, become an adult, while he’s stuck. Stuck at 11.

“Living forever, it’s not all it’s cracked up to be.”

He, Aidan and Roxy become friends, and they travel to dangerous places, trying to help Alfie to find the other livperler.

“Alfie embarks on an adventure to find friendship, acceptance and a different way to live…

…which means finding a way to make sure he will eventually die.”

I rate this book 8 ❤s out of 10❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com