Book Review- The Phantom Tollbooth

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
2 min readMar 17, 2022

WHY I LIKE THIS BOOK

I really liked this book, it was absolutely amazing. I love weird and crazy things so I liked this book straight from the first wacky creature Milo met.

I thought it was very unique, and I don’t think I ever read a book with a similar plotline, though the wackiness was similar-ish to Alice in Wonderland and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, but not the same.

This book has so many adventures and people in one 20-chaptered book that I thought that the places and characters might be a little rushed or not well thought out, but, not the case.

I could imagine the characters and places with such good imagery and the illustrations were amazing as well.

Overall, this was a super duper unique and funny book and I recommend this book for people who like funny, hilarious, wacky and action books!

(Rating at the bottom of this post)

WHAT THIS BOOK IS ABOUT

This book is written by Norton Juster

Milo didn’t know what to do with himself. On the way to school he thought about coming, and coming home he thought about going. Nothing interested him. Well, not uptil now.

One day, coming home, he noticed something he never noticed before, an enormous package. When opened, it said, “ONE GENUINE TURNPIKE TOLLBOOTH:

TO BE ASSEMBLED.”

Milo hops on the tollbooth and meets strange people in strange lands. He visits the Land of Expectations, on the way to Dictionopolis. In Dictionopolis he meets King Azaz, and his brother far away in Digitopolis.

The two brothers were forever arguing about which was better; Numbers, or words?

Milo was told by a Which (Not a witch) the story of Rhyme and Reason, the two sisters who kept everything in harmony.

That was, until they were banished. So, Milo embarks on a dangerous journey to bring back Rhyme and Reason.

He encounters dangerous devils, lousy loafers, Doctors of Discord, a Dynne, and other wacky creatures, read more to find out if he can rescue Rhyme and Reason!

I rate this book 9 ❤s out of 10 ❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com