Book Review- Ways to Make Sunshine

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2022

WHAT I THINK OF THE BOOK

I liked this book because it was encouraging but I did think it was a bit like some other books I’ve read.

The book was a little bit uneventful because not really much happened with Ryan. For example, no antagonist, (I don’t mean an evil villain, just something to make it more interesting for the reader), but the writing was really good and the setting was well planned out.

I think also think it’s a little of an anticlimactic ending when she finds who the box belonged to.

It’s a really nice book, and I liked that there were funny bits as well. And, I thought that adding little details like how she looked, what she did, etc made it a little more engaging.

Overall it’s a book with a few things I would have changed. I recommend this book for people who like encouraging books, but not for people who like action, twists and turns. This was not an action book or a climatic book but it make you feel good in parts.

(Rating at the bottom of the post)

WHAT IS THE BOOK ABOUT

This book is written by Renee Watson

Ryan Hart; the girl with a boy’s name. Her name meant ‘leader’ and that’s what she wanted to be.

Ryan has to move to a new house when her dad’s job is removed. But she hated it. The new house was not new. It was old, musty and used. When Ryan finds a mysterious box with two seashells, a postcard addressed to no one, a white handkerchief, dried rose petals and 3 gold hair clips. She is determined to find who it belonged to.

In the Sunday Church on Easter, Ryan has to give a speech. She had been practising for ages and she was sure she wouldn’t fumble, or forget her lines like every year. Will she do it?

Ryan loves making ‘food concoctions’. Yes, exactly what it sounds like. She made strange combinations like honey chicken, Blackberry-Lime smoothies.

But with the Talent Show coming up, Ryan is afraid she doesn’t have a talent and doesn’t know what to do.

With the help of her friends, Amanda and KiKi, she’s off to find a talent for herself.

For me, the rating is 4 ❤s out of 10 ❤s!

--

--

Nalini Roy
The Lil Switch

Book reviewer, author and book-worm. I love cartwheels, handstands and dogs. I’m 11 and I love writing reviews- Learn more on https://www.naliniroy.com